Monday, 30 Janauary 1865

A leetle cloudy. Sent letters to Edgar Drummond, & W. Lushington.

Accounts: horrid is this expensive place!

Shut up shop ― because I must get money, & from various other causes, break up all the day.

So at 11 ― I went to Lacroix the Banker, & drew 30£ of circular notes ― also getting 20£ of Thomson Hankey’s cashed.

Then, walked to Villa Marion ― Carabacel, & called on Mrs. Beaumont, who was one of the earliest persons to buy drawings from me ― so far back as 1839 ― (thro’ Mrs. Blair, ―) & who, Miss Reilly told me was here. She is ― (in 26 years) si capisce[1] ― altered, ― but has much of that charm of goodness which cannot fade.

Then to Lady Duncan’s ― & saw Anna D. ― but she ought not to talk ― so I walked out towards the “Orangine” ― but gave it up after half an hour of dusty road. Returned, & lunched with Lady & Anna Duncan, who go to Cannes on the 1st February. ― I am glad for them, but it is a loss for me. ― Next, about 2.30, called on the Cortazzi ― they were going out, & Madeline looked very pretty. ― Then to Mrs. S. Barry’s, where I only saw Geraldine ― a remarkably sweet ducky child: a love. Next, returning home, Adml. Sir H.J. Martin overtook me, ― & came to “my rooms” ― & looked at drawings. G. Kokali came in before he left, ― but the house seemed “unto me desolate.” Adml. M. is pleasant. Not so the smell of the drains.

Weather “overcast & cloudy:” as it were snow.

At 4 ― went up to Villa Sassernõ ― & even up the steps to the garden ― but there the dogs came ― & overwhelmed me ― & I fled: absurd ―― but I did flee.

Near the Bridge ― passed the Fitzwilliam carriage ― & stopped: Lord F. getting out & saying he would walk with me ― & I talking to the children. What curious people! so high & so rich ― & yet so simple! So we walked ― talking of Woolley ― & other matters ― all the way to the Hotel des Princes & back! Queer life.

At home, the Suliot was sulky ― & no wonder, ― at the exorbitant prices of every thing. τὸ κλίμα ναὶ, αλλὰ ὅλα ἄλλα[2] ―. I bought him a pair of shoes 16fr. ― & well he merits them. But he is a=worry today, as are we not all sometimes? ― Sir C. Napier’s life ― which[3] I read with delight & gratitude. Dined at 6.30 ― & penned out Oneglia drawings till 10. ―

The accounts ― & this journal.

The coldest day in Nice ― βέβαιως little wind ― but no sun & bleak.


[1] “One sees,” or “of course.”
[2] The climate yes [i.e. is all right?] but all the rest.
[3] The entry continues on the facing page for 29 January.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1865, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

