Saturday, 12 November 1864

Bad night’s rest. ― Today has been, first bright & sunny, ― then cloudy gray ― & so to the end, calm: ― & no need of fires.

Ἐγῶ, ὅμως,[1] ― did not go out till 5: but worked hard at just coloring the pencil outlines I made yesterday of the 240 Tyrants. My! ― how hard I did work! ― But I became depressed & worried towards afternoon. ― There were letters from Fanny Coombe, & Cromek, & T. Cooper. ― And at 4.30, came Lord Strangford, whom, had I been at leisure, I should have been glad to see.

At 5 I set out ― & tried to find the Cortazzi ― which after a while I did. Both are altered ― Helena the most: ― poor things.

Returned & dined, ― G. making one quite comfortable, & settling himself to read afterwards as regularly as possible. A man & of good conditions.

But I myself cannot work much, for I have no good lamps. ―

Very quiet place this ― & with an extra table or two, & lamps, ― perfect. Lady S. asked me to go out to their Hotel ― μὰ τοῦτο εἶναι ἀδύνατον.[2]

Wrote for 2 Pillischer Lamps today.

Reading, the Competition Wallah with gt. delight.[3]

―――――

2nd day of 240 Tyrants.


[1] I, however (NB).

[2] But that is not possible (NB).

[3] George O. Trevelyan’s The Competition Wallah. London and Cambridge: Macmillan and Co., 1864. The book collected a series of letters Trevelyan had contributed to Macmillan’s Magazine during his stay in India as a civil servant.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

2 Comments

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

2 responses to “Saturday, 12 November 1864

  1. Dear Marco,

    I think that the Greek is: μὰ τοῦτο εἶναι ἀδύνατον
    I am afraid my Greek polytonic letter set is Times New Roman

  2. I am sorry. I think I did not make myself clear. The corect word is εἶναι and not εἲναι. Cheers again.

Leave a Reply

