Tuesday, 25 October 1864

Dark morning ― but no rain.

Dickenson, Underhill: ― at 10.30 ― in cab to City, & got my annual Dividends ― this year £115.0.0. Leaving £100 with Mr. Scott, I returned home, just in time to show Lady Hatherton & Lady Fanny Harcourt my pictures. After they went, I finished the Sir Walter James picture ― & touch it shall I no more.

At 2.30 to the City again to Scotts, & was only just in time at the Bank to “accept the Stock.” ―

Back ― & bought Inkstands & at Parkins & Gotto, & then back to Stratford Place ― arranging letters &c. &c. Reginald Cholmondeley came: & now I am going to dress.

The whole evening was remarkably delightful, being a pleasant & surprising mixture: only Miss Bromley ― affected & vain, I never could endure.

1864-10-25

Vastly pleasant.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

