Monday, 24 October 1864

Rose at 6. Bright, gorgeous hues of foliage ― cold withal.

Wrote a letter or 2, ― & walked round the garden before 7.30. Breakfast ― with F. Riley, & Decie, ― & we 3 walked to Rail ― 8.13. ― Riley is a queer dry uninteresting cove, ― tho’ I dare say good Decie is both good & interesting. We 3 parted at Waterloo Station. ―― I found no letters from Corfû ―strange. Violently I set to work on unfinished bits of the Campagna picture ― & generally improved it. ― Arranged & attempted to pack a little, but at 1 ― went out. Met Lord Kirkenwall, to whom I only said, “I don’t like your book” & passed on: for I am always unable to say terse or sharp things. To Martins, & Lady Waldegrave’s, & to Drummond’s, where I drew out £17.0.0, & then, (having vainly tried to get a map of the Riviera,) I went to Days ―: Days had notrubbed off my drawings ― tho’ I wrote to them to do so in June. ― Returned, variously shopping ― by 5 ― & then called at Lady Hathertons, & at Emma Parkyns ― who is still very unwell. Home by 7. Dinner ― 7.30 ― μοναχῶς. Ἔπειτα ― arranged books & other matters till bed time.

XX


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

3 Comments

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

3 responses to “Monday, 24 October 1864

  1. Who was Lord Kirkenwall, and why did Lear dislike his book so much?

  2. George FitzMaurice, Viscount Kirkwall (not Kirkenwall: my transcription was wrong, which is why I could not find information on Kirkwall’s book), had just published Four Years in the Ionian Islands. Their Political and Social Condition. 2 vols. London: Chapman and Hall, 1864. http://books.google.it/books?id=AM1_ZpWXHNUC&dq=inauthor%3Afitzmaurice&hl=it&pg=PR1#v=onepage&q&f=false
    also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_FitzMaurice,_6th_Earl_of_Orkney

Leave a Reply

