Thursday, 13 October 1864

Same gray dry fine weather, & bright moon at night. Did not go out all day. Underhill came at 9 ― & till 10 worked at the Cedar outline, wh. I have set him to do: he seems a good lad ― he gets 57£ per ann. (from the club ― Pratt’s) of which £5.5. go in his lodgings ― & £10.10 to his disabled mother ― leaving him 40 for board & clothing. So I don’t think what help I can give his would be misplaced.

I worked a little ― almost the last I can do ― at the Janina. And a good deal at the Campagna ― sky particularly. Then, I cleared out a closet, & more or less arranged various things. At near 6 ― the Railway people brought the Athens roba here, ― but I had no change to pay: so it was sent back to Foord’s.

Dined alone at 7. Piano ἔπειτα[.]


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

