Sunday, 25 September 1864

Rose at 8 ― pooh pudor!

At breakfast ― reading Bates’ Brazil,[1] with very gt. delight.

Afterwards ―― looked over unpenned sketches ― selecting those I should take abroad to make drawings from.

At 1. came Wade=Browne & lunched ― so to speak. ― So I gave up my “professional life” ―― & went with him in a cab to Victoria Park ― not so lovely as I was told it was by any means. Ἔπειτα ― by omnibus & cab ― to Battersea Park ― (about 5. P.M.) & those Gardens are really wonderfully lovely. Climbing Rails &c. &c. ― & so we walked to Bond St. together ― I was to dine with W.B. at the [Jemion] but, that being shut, ― at Long’s. So I walked home & dressed, & at 7.30 was again at Longs. Dinner profuse & excellent ― but most costly. Much ˇ[(of wine &c.)] was added perhaps thro’ my own gauche stupidity. After all ― W.B. vanished ― & I, (tho’ I waited for him some 10 minutes ―) came home by 10.30.

Whereby I am at home at 10.30. But, δὲν θέλω ἒτζι γευματίσω [illegible Greek word][2] ―

XX8


[1] Henry Walter Bates’s The Naturalist on the River Amazons. 2 vols. London: Murray 1863; or the abridged 1-volume edition of 1864.

[2] I do not wish to dine thus [] (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

