Friday, 5 August 1864

Woe again! ― 6. A.M. Bright morning sun! what would I not give to see it, out of these fearful brick & mortar regions!! But it is of no use to lament. || ――― No letters. Worked at the 10 Campagna drawings; ― angry at interruption about Charltons chest of drawers. (Massingberd & his 2 nice girls consoled me however. At lunch ― a letter from Daddy, ― one of those grand & thoughtful notes he writes sometimes; ― he is gone to day to Fairbairn’s, & I hope his portrait there will turn out well.

No one came to me: nor did I go out. ― Frightful & bitter as is the giving up all beauty of summer life, I am thankful at least that it is hot & bright, & that I am well ―physically ――― tho’ before 8 or 10 hours’ work are over I suffer in head & spirits more or less. To day worked at Tor di Schiavi & other drawings ― for all the world as if I was there.

Dined at 8 ― the Coopers getting me a nice dinner, & being always attentive & obliging. Wrote afterwards to Ellen & to Sarah ― rather long letters.

The Coopers’ child goes on living.

(X4)


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

