Tuesday, 2 August 1864

Rose at 5.20 ― & was at work by 6, “for all that.”

Sad letter ― enclosed by Ellen ― from Sarah; poor Sarah’s life is most sad ― excepting by her lively & dutiful clinging to poor Mr. Street. ― I sent off 10£ to poor Mrs. Fredk. S. & wish to send more. They are in very great trouble indeed: Fred has died pennyless: & the stepson, J. Salter, is very ill. ― Cooper’s child seems recovering ― which is θαύμαστον.[1]

I drew hard all day long ― at the 10 Campagna sketches I have begun: but I think the best mode is to do a multitude, as in 1863 ― those “60 Tyrants”[.] One goes on however now ― step by step & blindly.

When it came to 6.30 ― I was too tired to go out ― so I had some cold meat at home & wrote afterwards to Homan Hunt, ― Mr. Edwards ― &c. &c.

To day ― unusual ― I have been depressed at times: but these fits are ― I thank God, rare now a days[.]

I wish I could hear oftener of George ― thorough honest good manly companion of so many long & difficult journeys.


[1] Marvelous (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

