Monday, 18 July 1864

Rose at 6. Foords men hung the pictures[.]

Letters from Mr. Edwards ― Jenny is safe. from Lady Hunter: & Miss Waugh. At 9.30 ― went to Victoria Station.

A hot & lovely old-fashioned summer’s day. Long & tiresome journey ― changing at Croydon, & Horsham. Beyond Pulborough the new line is beautiful ― going close below Peppering & Burpham, & the Offham hanger. From the Station ― below the Causeway hill, ― walked to the “Old Bank.” Young Salter ― H.S.’s son received me, a pleasant & gentlemanly youth. Then poor Sarah ― sadly afflicted, & poor Mr. Street, but he is very cheerful ― though a good deal aged. After a little lunch, (I arrived at 1) 2 hours went in talk with poor Sarah. Then came the funeral visitors, (one, a very fat bearded man would not have recognized me ― nor I him ― Robt. Duke.) At 3 ― the funeral. ― a foot procession ― left the house ― Volunteers of Fred’s Corps carrying his body ― & the band preceding ― all up ― up ― the high Street. Mr. Street & young Salter walked first: I & Mr. Wilson next. Looking back from the top of the hish-street ― (nearly all the houses were closed ―) ― what reflections rose! How I remembered my sister Sarah, then well off ― & her 2 boys ― Fred only a year old ― playing there! ― Then ― entering the churchyard ― (all that part one thick theory of people! ― What a strange annihilation of time ― recollecting as I did the repeated Sunday entrances to that porch! ― Then old Mr. Hart nasally reading the service! (The ancient ghosts of Calkin at the organ, ― Miss Griffith, & Miss Parkins Mrs. Quennell ― all seemed to rise: & others too. ―

Happily ― what I came there for was uppermost. At the grave, the Volunteers [blotted, illegible phrase] alone lowered the body. Often as I have heard that service read, I never did so with more interest. They fired “three volleys in the air” ― over poor Fred’s grave. I walked back, between poor Mr. Street & Mr. Wilson. Of Mr. W. I recollect little or nothing: perhaps all the better ― as I can’t help thinking he ought not to have let his daughter marry S. At the Bank, I saw, for the first time for many years ― Mrs. Fredk. S. ― still ― though she must be 45 or more, very good-looking. Then followed a lunch dinner: kindly all, & not unpleasant in any way: ― & I must add that my nephew’s stepson’s & daughter’s care for everything made everything satisfactory. ― After this ― a talk upstairs ― & good bye. ― But how sad for the poor old parents! ― & for the widow! “Ten years together & never one word of difference!!” ―― she said more than once ― “is not the happiness to make this loss ― looking back ―very dreadful?”

Young Salter came with me to the Station. A Volunteer there ― crying ― I spoke to: his name was Sharpe ― & his wife was apparently [of] the Servant class ― “Says O” ―: but the feeling of that man was one of the Saul & Jonathan order ― & I should be glad to see him again. [Evidently, the good life of Fk. Street was the cause of this witnessing of sympathy at his death][1] A tedious journey followed ― to Victoria Station at 8.30. ― Got some supper home. Several people have called ― Sir H.J. Storks, Baring &c. ―

Poor Thomas Cooper’s little baby is very ill. ―


[1]In a box on the page for 17 July.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

