Tuesday, 12 July 1864

XX4

Disturbed by those horrid Portuguese coming upstairs at 2.30. ― Did next to nothing before breakfast. Afterwards ― worked pretty quietly & successfully at Jameson’s Florence till 3. Penned Cretan drawings till 4.30 or 5. Then walked to the Academy: few pictures besides Hook’s delight me: those indeed do. E. Landseer is absurd. Lee offensive. I forge J. Lewis ― who is not only original but excellent & wonderful. J. Lewis & Hook ― . ――

Walk back, & penned again till 7: dress & to Eaton Place. My pictures of Kasr es Saad & Janina really look lively ― & depress me ― as being better ― to my

1864-07-12

seeming than what I do now. ― A most friendly & pleasant party in all ways. Afterwards I sang ― good piano. & walked home with Archie Peel ― about 12.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

