Monday, 11 July 1864

Rose at 6. & coloured Crete Sketches before breakfast.

Letter from Giorgio ― Χριστὸς is dead ―. ――― G.’s letter is not very distinct as to what is passing: ― Spiro it seems has made no decision as to leaving Corfû. Poor good G. says ― “let us go again to Crete ― Rettino & Zitzo, & ai Deka, & la gallina.” ―― I coloured, finishing 12 more of the Cretan drawings ― all day ― 36 in all. ― Nobody came at all. Talk with Gush about the rooms. Later, Robinson came ― (the Artist on the 1st floor,) & we agreed, that as he wishes to go, I shall take those in addition to my own. So I shall suppose 360£ lost for 3 years. At the end of that time, should that be so, I shall have still 1640£ remaining: but it seems to me rather that large rooms would give me a better chance of increasing my 2000£. Ἄς εἴδωμεν.[1] ―

At 5. I went to Nicolas the Cabinet maker, & ordered another Cabinet for sketches. Then to Foord’s ― ordering other mounts for the absurd & utopian batch of 240 I propose doing by next year. Bickers & Bush, Roberson, Day ― & lastly W. Nevills, where I dined on cold Lamb ― W.N. being alone. Nothing is settled yet about Allan, or other matters. ― W.N. is sadly vague & dim.

He walked to Holborn with me.

Home by 9.20.


[1]Let’s see (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

