Saturday, 9 July 1864

Thanks to the Portygoose man over me ― who comes home at 4 I woke up & rose. Looked again vainly for the dear old rawing of Philates Castle, with all the Albanian Beys sitting. It is doubtless not in the 3 cabinets ― & I fear totally lost. Penned out till 8. & after breakfast worked somewhat at Jameson’s Florence, which must be done ― tho’ I fear it will give me good deal of trouble.

Then penned out till lunch time. A frightful heavy & dreary weight of undefined gloom oppresses me: ― one of the morbid irrepressible fits of which I thank God I now have but few, in comparison with former days.

Slept a good deal afterwards; no one came all day* ― but little Underhill; ― various notes ― invitations &c. &c. At 5.30 I called on Philip Bouverie ― pleasant visit. Sartoris & Grenfell ― out. Cab home. Walked about Stratford Place with everlasting bright good dear Mrs. G.C.

* Except Fortescue.

At 7.30 to Lowndes Square.

1864-07-09

Very good dinner & pleasant evening.

But I do wish I could hear from my good Giorgio Cocàli.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

