Friday, 22 January 1864

Very lovely calm ― all day. The hills are whiter than I ever saw them, except in 1856.

Drew at S.W.C.’s view of Corfu. ―

Sent prints of Citadel to Taylor.

Steamer (Alexandria,) of 21st in: one letter only ― Cheque for £3.3 from Mrs. Noble: so now there are only 27. Subscriptions left unpaid.

Kind letter from Sir H.J. Storks.

Major Cockes called. 3 subalterns also of the 6th. The 6th officers seem to me always as more of one set ― a simple domestic lot ― than those of any Regt. I have known.

At 4.30. I walked out ― only round Καστράδες. Old Βασίλια saw me, & ran after me Ἀφέντι μου,[1] “to shake hands with me.[”]

Moonlight ― & recollection of other moonlights. But those days are gone: ― nor do I say with Mrs. N. ― “Would those days could come again!” ―――

Dined μόνος: & penned out till nearly 11. (G. having come in, saying ― “Vado a letto, Sigre.”)[2] at Argostoli drawings. Froude’s life of Elizabeth delights me.[3] ―


[1] My Master (NB).

[2] I’m going to bed, Sir.

[3] Froude, James Anthony. History of England from the Fall of Wolsey to the Death of Elizabeth. Volume II. Reign of Elizabeth. London: Longman, Green, Longman, Roberts, & Green, 1863.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

1 Comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

One response to “Friday, 22 January 1864

  1. Νίκος Δ. Καράμπελας

    Dear Marco,
    Please change the ς into σ in the word Βαςίλια. It should read Βασίλια. Presumably Vassili (=Basil), or Vassilá a common Corfiot family name.
    Yours
    Nikos

Leave a Reply

