Tuesday, 12 January 1864

Grey, & cold. Horribly unwell all day.

Violent cold in head & eyes. Sat by the fire blowing my nose all day. Head bad also.

In the afternoon, Stockley, Hogg, & Sturt came. Clark also: & later Gio. Paramythiotti.

Ill as I was, I could not bring myself to give up going to the De Veres ― so I actually dressed & went. Only Middleton was there. Could hardly sit thro’ the evening, I came away at 9.30.

Feet in hot water, & bed.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

