Sunday, 19 July 1863

Rose at 5.30. Copying journals till 8.30. Walk in Garden ― first alone, then with E. Clive. But it is woefully cold. ― Breakfast uncomfortable. No space ― & everlasting bustle. And I wish I could talk to young ladies. ― Afterwards, they going to church, I wrote & read till 1. Converse & dawdle on lawn below trees. Lunch. Boles uncomfortable. Walked ― sat ― & talked till 4. ― when they came from afternoon church, & at 5 we all walked ―: a pleasant party ― I mainly with Sir W. & Lady M.F. ― we rested now & then in hay fields ― & all at home by 6.30, when I came up to dress. At dinner ― 8 ― I was really wretched, having a low chair, & Miss Emily Mildmay’s hoop ― iron & all ― coming into my side & elbow so that I not use my arm. Comments needless.

1863-07-19

“Sacred” music afterwards[.]

Evening rather a bore. ― Sybilla Mildmay always good & delightful.

Bed at 11.15.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1863, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

