Sunday, 31 May 1863

Woke at 4 ― but slept again till 7 ― wonderful to say. ― At 8 ― 8.30 breakfasted with Dr. Roberts who is always the same, even & amiable. Φώκιον Μπᾶρφ came in afterwards for a time. As for me, I read (or slept ―) all day: among other matters, a novel ― “Good for Nothing” by Whyte Melville.[1] The weather is very hot here ― & I mean to keep indoors all day. And “bedad” I did: ― lying on a sofa reading Kingsley & other authors.

At 7.30. Roberts & I went to dine with Mr. Wrench.

But previously, R. & Phoicon B. had come in & had gone out for a walk: ―― & they had told me the news such as it is. At 7.30 dined with Mr. Wrench. Φοϐοῦμαι, φοϐοῦμαι[2] I drink a deal of beer &c. &c. But by talking ― alas ― no virtue but a sad necessity ― evening passed by. ― & 11 o’clock by them ― 10 by me ― ever the signal of moving. Very kind good folk.

 


[1] George John Whyte Melville, Good for Nothing; or, All Down Hill, 2 vols. Leipzig: Bernhard Tauchnitz, 1862.

[2] I am afraid, I am afraid (NB)


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1863, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

