Sunday, 15 February 1863

Snow on Salvador.

Cold ― fine ― bright. After 2 or 3 ― cloudy.

After breakfast, went out intending to go to church ― but arriving there ― found service already begun ― whereon I came back.

Drew for Mary De Vere ― & other matters till 1 ― when I called on the De Vere’s & lunched there: afterwards on Mrs. Bridgeman Simpson ― whom Straham told me had arrived yesterday, & I resolved to be magnanimous & forget 63 Oxford Terrace. Found her very unwell, but the party seemed agreable. Next I called on Lady Pigott ― whom I saw also: & now I am at home ― 3. P.M. ― “Made up my mind” to call at the Sargents ― & did so ― but they were out. Then I walked ― very bitterly cold! ― to Potamò & round by the flats ― returning by 6.45. ― (G.’s 3rd boy is christened today ― Τεόδορος.)

To the Palace at 7.30.

1863-02-15

Pleasant evening. Sir H.S. is undoubtedly a most amusing man ― as well as good governor.

Awfully cold night. ― Home by 10.30.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1863, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

