Thursday, 5 February 1863

Fine ― but clouds are gathering.

Not able to work much ―at least early.

So I cut up bits of tracing paper to immortalize the 60 Tyrants!

But afterwards I finished Nos. 20 ― 21 ― 22 ― 23, so there are now by[1] 7 more to complete.

Dr. Roberts & Major [Dashing] came about 4.30 ― & later Hogg of the R.E. ― who was delighted at the drawings: ― Walked with him from 5.30 to 6.30.

Roberts goes to Zante on Saturday ― so ― although so later as 4.30 ― I asked him to dine, & G. set out at once to get food. The dinner was rather late, but very good.

R. went at 10.30 ― supposing ― as I also did, that it was 9.30. Ἐγὼ ἒκαμα σφᾶλμα, διὰ τὸ ὀρολογοιόν μου.[2]

Penned out till nearly 12.

 


[1] I suppose Lear intended “but.”

[2] I was wrong about my clock (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1863, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

