Wednesday, 26 November 1862

Rose at 7. Fine ― i.e. ― no rain ― but gray. (― & after all the demonstrations of the moon ― I believe we are not at fine weather yet.)

The contents of the 2 boxes of yesterday, I arranged ― before breakfast. And afterwards, began to draw outlines of drawings “to be made ―” ―― to the amount of 30!!!!!!!!!

Came Politi ―― to whom I gave Miss Goldsmid’s book: ― & we discussed carpets. ――

At 2.30. I set off ― straight on end, ―― along the ancient round ― up to Κυνοπιάστες, ―― but Villetta was not there!

I saw a man who told me that he was “εἰς τὴν πόλιν”[1] ―― (at the same time he blew up a woman ― who talked of “ὁ δοῦλος τοῦ κυρίου”[2] ―― “δοῦλος”![3] ― he shouted ―――― “ὁ ἂνθρωπος!”[4]

Walked back by 6.

Giorgio’s Dinner was pleasant ― & welcome. He shews me a writing of Nicóla.

My piano is a blessing.

The waves plash, plash. ―― but I think we shall have more rain.

Up to near 10 I have written out a lot of words from A.P. Stanleys Gk. Church. but must now go to bed.


[1] In town (NB).

[2] The servant of the Lord (NB).

[3] Servant (NB).

[4] The fellow (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

