Friday, 5 September 1862

Bad demon again. Gray & fine to 5 ― wet then.

Wrote many letters, George Cocáli, ― Ellen, &c. &c. &c.

Worked a little at the Psororous Corfû ― a little at the small Athos of Miss Yates. ― W. Nevill came.

At 4 ― went to Fairbairn’s, & found her at home: ― they would rather I came in October.

On my way there ― corner of Grosvenor Sqre. ― passed quickly a carriage. In it were the angelly=faced Bella Decies ― & the little Frank, & the really jovial=friendly=spiritual Mrs. Prescott. Nonsense=Germanly tho’ I write, this incident pleased me overmuch.

So I ordered “dinner” at home, & walked out & called on Peel ― to whom had been borne a daughter. A [][1]white & black & yellow spotted Guinea pig carrying boy, & an organ=bearing man attracted me, just as I saw John Gibson ― in Boxall.

I stopped: but had had no idea of seeing such a record of ancient days. Williams does not come. ― I only stayed 2 minutes talking to Giovanni Scultore.

Then I came home & dined: και επετα του Ὁμερου ἡ Ἰλιὰς.[2]

Afterwards ― placed about 80 Photographs ― long collated, in a book: & finally wrote Greek again, till 12.

X


[1] A word I cannot read has been blotted.

[2] And afterwards, Homer’s Iliad (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

