Thursday, 14 August 1862

Wet early ― gray afterwards[.]

Geoffrey Nevill came soon after breakfast: a pleasant lad ― & I hope may turn out well.

Then ― at 12 ― James Uwins: ― whom I like better always as I grow older. ― Worked a little at Admrl. Robinson’s Corfû.

At 4.10. I left Waterloo Station, & came to Weybridge ― where was C. Buxton, who took me (― through St. George’s Hide, ― towards Fox Warren, ― but torrents came down, & we were glad to get into the Break ˇ[which overtook us], & go on to his house. Very beautiful the view thence! Cheerful & far away. Also Parrots abide in the Gardens ― & flowers. ―

The Douglas Galtons came: ― they are not quite to my taste: & certainly he is a very washy successor to John Godley, as far as my judgment goes.

Dinner good. The 2 Buxtons very kindly & pleasant. Evening cheerful. I sang as well as I could. Mrs. G.’s quotations of Gibson, & her talk of the Goldsmid’s, ― was queery. ― G. is over official.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

