Thursday, 31 July 1862

X12.

A bad month. ill at ease.

Fine. Dickenson’s man put the glass into the Athos frame, & as far as I can see, I finished the picture. ―

A sale is going on in poor W.F. Beadon’s house.

At 3. I lunched ― being a fool. ―

The blue sky saddens me. Really if I could realize enough money to give me 200 a year, I think I would begin a new kind of life altogether, but I suppose this cannot be.

At 4.30 ― came Col. Cockburn; ― later Dowgr. Lady Wenlock, Mrs. Stuart Wortley & her daughter, who staid till after 5 ―― when I cabbed to Rail to Putney ― arriving there at 6 ― & a cab to Mrs. Cameron’s. Lots of people: poets can’t be seen alone. ―

Rail back at 10.30.

Home by 11.30.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

