Sunday, 13 July 1862

Exceedingly fine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

& all day too!

Rose at 6. Homer till 9. But then in no comfort in the look out of the room.

Breakfast 9.30. not unpleasant. The young lady next me I suddingly found to be a niece of Walter Fawkes, & grand niece of Mrs. Wentworth!! ― Talk thereof ― & queer internal recollections. Mary Wentworth lives at Cheltenham. Lady Hancock “Dora W.” in Kent. Charlotte, (“we never mention,”) &c. ―

Boles all shut up ― so I couldn’t “do” church ― & staid at home, & ‘did’ Homer. At 1. Dawdlings in the Garden ― & at 2, lunch. & thenceforth ― fresh dawdle ― poky ― standings to & fro: till at 3 we ― 10 of us ― Mildmay, Clive, A. Clive, Finch EL H. Farquhar, Miss Mildmay & Miss Keesby (?) ― Clifford & Winthrop made a pleasant merry walk ― & very pretty it was too. After returning we sate ― & had tea ― & then went into [] rooms &c. &c. &c. ― Dinner οὔτως[1]

 


[1] Like this.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s