Thursday, 19 June 1862

XX4

Indigestion & misery. Coloured sketches.

Ἣλθε Λῶρδ Κλέρμοντ ― καὶ εἰχαμεν μίαν διαλογίαν δυσαρεσκετὴν.[1]

He introduced gradually the subject of C. & F.W. ― & I saw there was no escaping it. And when he said ― ‘ἐλπίζαμεν ὃτι θὰ πανδρεύσει τον Δοῦκον,’[2] ― I was obliged to say more. Whereon a long talk, & very painful ― of his own “horror” & dislike of the chances of such a marriage. To wh. I said, ― “my own impression is that if it depends on him, he will marry her.” He then spoke of Mrs. R. ― that she feared it & trembled to hear it, that she would never [sufer] ― antecedents &c. &c. ― much that was true & sad. He spoke very very sorrowfully & truthfully. All I could say was that if it were as possible as I believed it to be, then opposition was needless ― & more, all thoughts of the past should ˇ[as far as possible] be cancelled for the sake of peace & affection. ― He said it was known & talked of by all the county ― that he would never come in again for Louth ― that it would estrange him from all &c. I pointed out that she had lost no friends: that even her last husband’s family were her warmest: that her own position was made & fixed. And, although I did not decide as to whether Mrs. R. should be told it or not ― (I mean the chance,) ― I begged for the present that no more should be said. I told him C. had mentioned my writing to her ― should Events be about to occur ― & that I was sure C. did not know Mrs. R. imagined the matter at all. ――― But it seems she does: ― & if things go as C.F. wishes ― then no end of sorrow is to the fore. I too wish that possibility had never been likely ― but as it is ― all must be done to make things as whole & as charitable as may be. The conversation ended I like Lord C. even better than I did before ― wh. is saying much.

Went out at 4 ― & left cards on Fairbairn, Potter, & Gurney. Met J. Battersby Harford ― who has 7 children now ― 2 sons. ― As usual it rained from 5. ― Returning, found F.L. had been, & at the door met James Hutchinson ― who went back & sate with me till 6.30 ― when I cabbed ― (cabs are scarce now) to Mr. Norths at 3. Victoria Street. ― & the dinner was in this wise ―

Very good dinner. Very good conversation. Very good music.

& so I came away at 11.20 ― & was at home before 12.


[1] Lord Clermont came ― we had an unpleasant talk (NB).

[2] We hoped she would marry the Duke (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

1 Comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

One response to “Thursday, 19 June 1862

  1. Peter Byrne

    Fascinating to see Lear in the midst of epilepsy and indigestion go dramatic over soap opera material like some precursor of Marcel Proust.

Leave a Reply

