Sunday, 15 June 1862

Same weather; gleams of fine, ― & pouring storms of rain.

Rose at 6 or 7 ― & penned out & drew till 10. Breakfast ― & afterwards ― “withdrew” to read & write. C.F. talked with me some time. Lunch, very horribly tiresome ― as it is wholly impossible to talk to Ida Money & Hervey. Certainly ― I am come to a point of life when the restraint of aristocratic society is a fearful bore, & one not at all wants entertaining. Looking ahead for the remaining years, ―― I hardly know where I shall go ― or what do. ―

After 3 or 4 ― F. & I walked a little, & then sate with Lady W. & Lady P. in a harbor. ― At 5 came in & did Greek & drawing again till near dressing time.

Dinner more pleasant ― as I sate next Mrs. M.

Afterwards ― We played a game ― “the scandal story” ― & later  I sang: ― ευφημiously.[1]

Bed at 11.45. C.F. sitting up some time with me.

 


[1] Joyously (NB).


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1862, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

