Thursday, 14 January 1858

Rose at 5½ ― worked at Πλάτων alone ― for after all, Παπαδόπουλος did not come ― which is a horrid bore. ― Worked more or less all day long at Lord Clermont’s picture, which I really think will soon be finished. I weary & worry horribly. Nor has Gage paid me the £ he owes, & I cannot pay this week’s bill. Campbell came at 3 for a bit. After sunset I set out (the day has been showery & cold ― evening fine) ― & walking the usual round sad & angry ― at the joining the Sta Decca road L.’s dog ― & afterwards himself. We hardly spoke all the way to Condi Terrace ― & this kind of thing irritates & annoys me so much that I quite dread the bore of so walking. ― Eh. ―

At 7, Turville came, & we dined: a most nice & pleasant fellow.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1858, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

