Saturday, 27 August 1864

Rose at 5.30. ― Arranged for painting, & various matters ― (sticking pins into canvass &c. &c. &c. &c. ―) which took me to 8. ―― No letters.

Began Sir W. James’s Campagna outline. At 1. came Mrs. Coombe. (I had asked her & her ) 3 daughter & Walter to lunch ― because I could not go there by day ― & she had written, “Yes.” ― But, in coming here, she had hurt her knee very badly ― & could hardly walk at all. Laura Coombe came later, ― & later Walter Coombe, who seems to be by far the best son poor Fanny has. ―

She was calm & quiet ― when still: ― & we 4 had Lunch very pleasantly ― Fanny Catt=Willett & Marion Morse not being able to come; & then we got Mrs. C. down stairs & into a cab.

I worked on till 5, when Cecil Lane came, & at 6, when I was ready to go out, F.L. So we 3, the Giudice,[1] A.D.C. & Artist of 1856 ― walked merrily moonily back to F.L.’s house: & C. Lane & I back to Stratford Place, ― where we parted.

Dined μοναχῶς.

Eh but I think I shall return gradually to Greece.


[1] Judge.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a comment