Friday, 3 June 1864

Slept very ill ― for Mosquitoes. And, on the principle of children liking to take the dose, if a dose must e taken, ― as soon as possible, ― I resolve, if I could get my “carpets” packed, ― to go today. ― So at 4 A.M. I set to work, & G. & I got all packed. At 7, we went to the office of the steamer, but she was not even telegraphed.


[Transcribed by Marco Graziosi from Houghton Library, Harvard University, MS Eng. 797.3. Image.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 1864, Diary Entry

Leave a Reply

